May 16, 2012

President John J. DeGioia Office of the President 204 Healy Hall 37th & O Streets, NW Washington, DC 20057

Dean Edward Montgomery Georgetown Public Policy Institute Old North Building 37th & O Streets, NW Washington, DC 20057

Dear President DeGioia and Dean Montgomery,

We, the students of the Georgetown Public Policy Institute who chose Secretary Kathleen Sebelius to speak at our Tropaia ceremony, wanted to make clear the intentions we had in selecting her to speak.

Secretary Sebelius was chosen through a process devoid of political considerations or partisan ideology. As students, we have learned that policy making is about more than just positions on issues. There are important lessons to be learned about leadership and the process of making and implementing policy, regardless of the positions that individual policy makers hold. Many of our students may disagree with some of the speakers who come to Georgetown, but we all feel lucky to attend a university where we hear directly from top leaders in our field of studies.

Secretary Sebelius has spent her career in public service, making her an ideal speaker for this important occasion marking the end of our time at the Georgetown Public Policy Institute. She has experience implementing major public policy initiatives, from her time as governor of Kansas to her role as Secretary of Health and Human Services. She also oversees one of the largest government programs and budgets, which is an important aspect of governing that interests most policy students. We invited her in this spirit and expect that her remarks will not be a political statement, but will reflect the experiences she has had throughout her life in public service.

We thank you for the opportunity to attend a university that exposes us to top leaders and officials in our country and throughout the world. They have important lessons in leadership and governing to share, regardless of their positions on specific issues. We have enjoyed our time at the Georgetown Public Policy Institute immensely and are looking forward to taking what we have learned here and proudly representing Georgetown in our chosen policy fields.

Hoya Saxa, Julia Druhan

Tropaia Chair- 2012

Co-signed by the following Georgetown Public Policy Institute students:

Adina Appelbaum

Althea Arnold

Lauren Barth

Scott Baumgartner

Gergory Berger

Matthew Brault

Cynthia Brenner

Michelle Brown

Brielle Bryan

Josh Caplan

April Carter-Chau

Mirlinda Caton

Charlie Chaplin

William Chen

Laura Cordero

Stephen Cottle

Charles Covel

Joseph Cox

Kimberly Dancy

Colin Deffet

Caitlin Delaney

Kevin Dieterle

Molly Dillon

Matthew Doyle

Luca Etter

Adam Fernandes

Latosha Floyd

Amanda Gant

Andrew Gerard

Christina Golubski

Hal Gordon

Dan Grant

Daniel Gregory

Janelle Gren DiLuccia

Lindsey Grumbo

Vanessa Harbin

Jennifer Hardy

Jaclyn Harris

Nicole Herman

Jennie Herriot Hatfield

Christopher Hildebrand

Thomas Holloran

Amanda Huffman

Traci Johnson

Kristen Johnson

Robert Johnson

Maria Joy

Alexander Karjerker

Elizabeth Keating

Aruna Maya Khan

Christopher Klein

Andrew Knudsen

Kelsey Kurth

Cassandra Lovejoy

Jacklyn Lussier

Anna Markowitz

John Marotta

Christopher McCall

Kevin McGrath

Eileen McKeown

Patrick Murray

Rebecca Nellis

Itai Nixon

Sarah Nixon

Samual Norton

Eduardo Nunes

Osondu Felix Obi

Courtney O'Brien

Erica Ogoe

Amy Olson

Kristina Pecorelli

Kim Peyser

Matt Rogers

Adam Robbins

Nikita Salgaonkar

Douglas Saunders

Galen Savidge-Wilkins

Michele Scarbrough

Chris Schreck

Nikhil Sharma

Malina Silva

Jim Steiner

Kathryn Steingraber

Hannah Stevenson

Leigh Szubrowski

Gaurav Tanwar

Isabel Taylor

Rachel Thomas Erin Thompson Chand Tulai Mazumdar Rose Tutera Lauren Wilson Robert Wood