AIDS 2012: Plenary: Opening Session

AIDS 2012: Plenary: Opening Session

For more information on this session, including access to speaker presentations, please see the conference Programme-at-a-Glance.


Opening Convocation 

  • Charles Straight, United States

AIDS 2012 Co-Chairs’ Welcome

  • Dr. Elly Katabira, Uganda
  • Dr. Diane Havlir, United States

Welcome to Washington, D.C.

  • Mayor Vincent Gray, United States


Time for Accountability

  • Annah Sango, Zimbabwe

Ending AIDS and Poverty

  • Dr. Jim Yong Kim, United States

A Journey to Zero: A New Era to Leverage Opportunities and Share Responsibility

  • Michel Sidibe, UNAIDS

Video Address by the Secretary-General of the United Nations

  • Ban Ki-moon, South Korea

Beginning of the End of AIDS

  • Representative Barbara Lee, United States


  • Ambassador Mark Dybul, United States


  • Kgalema Motlanthe, Deputy President, South Africa


  • Kathleen Sebelius, Secretary of Health and Human Services, United States

Event Date

Jul 22, 2012